Motivational Equinox Ads – Let me explain.

I like to float around to different gyms to keep exercise fresh and fun. Whenever I reach that comfort point, I know it’s time to try something new and spice things up. I have my favorites that I come back to (Orange Theory is one of them) but it’s been rare that I stay at one gym for longer than 3 months, especially now that all these trendy workouts are popping up. I heard about Equinox for the first time years ago when I was hanging around Miami. Seemed like a typical high price gym; I didn’t think anything of it. In fact, I heard on the grapevine that Equinox is where people go that don’t want to work out… yet I probably heard that from a Crossfitter and let’s be honest, that gang thinks they’re the Thors and Captain Americas of the workout community. A lot has happened since then, including Equinox advertisements. I don’t like to like marketing ploys but damn it Equinox, you got me!

The slow played and clever placement of advertisements were not only strategically poetic but that of psychological genius. Let me explain.

Snip20150606_7

I saw this paintball ad first. I remember like it was yesterday. I was doing my normal “like” on Facebook and this guy was one of the advertisements to the right of my screen. The bold splats of paint compelled me to glance back and actually notice the company that was posting this stylish yet dangerous guy on their behalf. My side-glare and wry face turned to mild interest. The Equinox seed was planted.


Snip20150606_3

Then, I saw these skinny ladies ironically sitting at a dessert table. Now, this sparked a few thoughts:
1)   The first thing that went through my mind was how invigorating it would be to slam my face in the side of that giant party cake. I’d love to pop one of those macaroons in my mouth too… after a long run of course…
2)   Sometimes people are more than they seem but I think I could beat both of those girls in an arm wrestle. If this is a wedding situation, they’re either fighting over the man or maid of honor spot and I doubt either is worth it.
Get Beyonce on, get out of the stereotype labels and run the world, girls! C’mon!

Snip20150606_4

Balance is important. I see this and think about the many occasions that my loving husband has dipped me while dancing. Now, he’s a strong man, don’t get me wrong but one day there is a real chance that we may have our own, personal pool and dipping during dancing escalates to a whole new level. If he dropped me in our living room – fine, shake it off, get up and keep dancing. That man drops me on the corner of our marble floored pool, real danger becomes a reality. Equinox is speaking to me and hitting home. Balance: vital for a life-long, happy marriage.


Snip20150606_5

Another pool situation. I like the color white but man, why does everything colorful occur when wearing white? If I fall in my pool while getting ready to host a party, I want to look solid as I “propel” myself out of that water. White is an all around unforgiving color. Why do people wear it? It stains. It goes see-through when wet. It’s the f*** you of colors. However, I see Equinox’s point here and I agree. The next time I wear white because I will, regardless of maximizing potential hazards, I want to be so confident that any catastrophe will only amplify my beauty. Way to slap white in the face, Equinox! Again – I hear you and appreciate the heads up for this unlikely but totally possible scenario that you want to prep me for. I’m working out today in reaction.


Snip20150606_10

You’re right, none of the advertisements before this one contained clear connections to fitness. Poetic genius. Psychological genius. After the connection was solidified, I had to visit the Equinox web site to see what’s up, which is where I found this and other fitness related images – finally. Icing on the cake! Look at these nice people running together. A community built on desire and motivated by luxury, sex and sweat. I feel like I should be disgusted but I unapologetically throw my hands in the air and love it! Get me a membership and a lavender scented towel!

Snip20150606_9Snip20150606_11

Equinox – how do you do it? Motivation truly comes in all forms. If seeing a picture of two girls arm wrestling next to a cake makes me want to workout, I can only blink a few times, shake my head in confusion and respect the creator. Well, I’m off to run like there’s no tomorrow and figure out which Equinox near me offers the best group classes. Full gym critique to come and Equinox, if you are reading this – I’m down to test out any of your classes, at any location.

Check out the above images and all there is to love: http://www.equinox.com/

2 weeks later

For reference, I went to check out Equinox and joined on the spot. So far, I love it! The gym is like a beautiful fitness playground. So much to do and so much fun to be had!